At just 342 calories per serving, this is my kind of healthy food – satisfying, packed with flavour and oh-so-good for you!

At the beginning of 2016, I declared that I was on a mission to eat healthier and share more fabulous meat-free dishes and salads here on RecipeTin Eats. Almost 3/4 of the way through the year, and I thoroughly admit to having failed on that New Years’ Resolution. I’m a cheese-lovin’ carnivore through and through, and my conscious efforts to share more green recipes have not gone very well. All that changes right here! I’m holding myself accountable to YOU. I’m declaring that every fortnight for the rest of 2016, I am going to post 1 meat-free meal. I’m saying “meal” to be clear that things like French Onion Dip and Zucchini Tots don’t qualify as meat-free. Otherwise I might try to be cheeky. 😉 And I’m starting with this epic Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna. Now THIS is meat-free for carnivores!

It’s saucy and juicy, fresh and packed with flavour. The secret weapon is this: a homemade Enchilada Sauce that is whizzed up in a blender. This Enchilada Sauce is ridiculously fabulous. It is fresher tasting than the sauce I make for my Beef and Bean Enchiladas and also has more flavour. How is that possible?? Blending. 🙂 Canned tomato + spices + fresh coriander / cilantro + onion + garlic whizzed in my mighty Vitamix = healthy fresh Enchilada Sauce with flavour that no store bought sauce will EVER compare to. One little taste test, and you’ll believe me!

You know I’m obsessed with my new Vitamix, and I’m still discovering the amazing power of this high performance blender. Like making breadcrumbs using fresh bread without toasting it. Just scrunch up the bread into a ball in your hand, turn the Vitamix on high then drop the ball in through the hole in the lid while it’s whizzing. And just like magic – poof! Breadcrumbs! 🙌🏼 It was my newfound love of blending and whizzing that was the catalyst for the creation of this blender Enchilada Sauce. It tastes so fresh from the onion and coriander, it’s perfect for a vegetarian meal. Though of course, some chicken or turkey wouldn’t go astray in this Mexican Lasagna! I put together a little video to show how it’s assembled. It’s really easy, but I thought it would be helpful to see how I layer the tortillas. I’ve also put some step-by-step photos below the post. WARNING: There is extreme exposure to BabyHands in this video. Watch at your own risk.

I adore the gorgeous colours of the veggies in this. It would put anyone in a good mood, cooking with all this colour!

I made this with corn, capsicum / bell peppers and zucchinis, but feel free to substitute with whatever veggies you have! Just make sure you sauté  watery veggies before layering them, otherwise they will leech water when baking and you’ll end up with a watery sauce. Also, in a bid to be healthier, I even made this with low fat cheese. I was pleasantly surprised how well it melted and how it tasted! But of course, feel free to use whatever cheese you want. 🙂 Here’s to more Meat Free Food for Carnivores! – Nagi x

STEP BY STEP PHOTOS

BOTTOM LAYER – I forgot to top the bottom layer with cheese!!!?

2ND LAYER AND TOP – Phew, remembered the cheese this time!!

LIFE OF DOZER

This post is brought to you in partnership with Vitamix Australia. I am so honoured to have been selected to partner with such a high quality brand! I was compensated for this recipe, however, if I had not been blown away by my Vitamix Blender, I would have politely declined the offer. Here’s proof how much I love my Vitamix: it has been elevated to the very exclusive status of a permanent position on my kitchen bench. Extremely valuable real estate, reserved for only the very best and most commonly used appliances! – Nagi x SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 54Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 89Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 43Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 73Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 72Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 18Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 62Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 65Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 59Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna - 15