Fruit crisps and I are old pals. They are one of the fastest, easiest desserts to throw together before dinner—this vegan apple crisp topping takes less than 5 minutes to prep—and they bake in the perfect amount of time to serve hot out of the oven when you are ready for dessert. In the spirit of full disclosure, I didn’t set out to make this a vegan apple crisp or a gluten free apple crisp, or really anything other than ridiculously yummy. As fall fortune would have it, however, it turns out that this apple crisp recipe, my absolute favorite fruit crisp to date, happens to be all of the above, and it’s healthy too! (If you prefer a little butter in your apple crisp instead, try my Crock Pot Apple Crisp.) I will warn you: backing away from this vegan apple crisp is a feat of physical and mental prowess that exceeds the abilities average mortals. If you can stop at one spoonful of the crunchy, toasty, cinnamon-spiced perfection that is this vegan apple crisp, you are made of stronger stuff than I. You may also be a super hero, in which case, call me. I have a particularly stubborn pot soaking in my sink, and I would love your assistance polishing it clean.

About This Apple Crisp Recipe

I made this vegan apple crisp with a blend of my beloved Honeycrisp apples and Granny Smith, but any firm baking apple will do nicely. If you have apple picking on your autumn agenda (or just need another excuse to eat apple crisp), this healthy apple crisp recipe is the perfect way to polish off your haul (this Apple Bread would also be delicious). For another healthy vegan recipe, try this Apple Smoothie. The vegan apple crisp topping is a blend of oatmeal, almond meal, flaked coconut (adds extra addictive toastiness, not a coconut flavor, so if you are coconut adverse, fear not), maple syrup, cinnamon, and coconut oil. Mix the topping up in a single bowl, then “quality test” it by taking a bite before sprinkling it over the apples. You will be very, very happy that you did. The final touch that launches this vegan apple crisp to the superlative “best apple crisp of your life” is a handful of dried cranberries. Last fall, my friend Conor tossed a handful into his homemade apple pie (in honor of his wife Kate, a cranberry fiend), and when I tasted a bite, I knew that I’d eaten something special. One year later, I still remember how lovely the cranberries’ chewy, sweet pop was paired with the apple filling, so I followed suit and added them to this vegan apple crisp too. Aren’t they just the prettiest little jewels?

More Fruit Crisp Recipes

Strawberry CrispPeach CrispSlow Cooker Triple Berry CrispStrawberry Rhubarb CrispDouble Crust Cherry CrispIf you enjoy healthier dessert recipes like this, check out my favorite 50 Healthy Desserts!

Easy fruit peelerWhite baking dish

Pull out your forks, friends. This might be an apple crisp for “The People” but you are going to want to fight for the biggest scoop, before the rest of “the people” beat you to it!

 

Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 45Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 24Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 93Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 97Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 27Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 25Vegan Apple Crisp  Delicious and Healthy     WellPlated com - 79