Ultra moist and densely chocolatey, these Guinness brownies are one of those exceptional desserts that, despite their decadence, are mysteriously easy to eat en masse. I blame the Guinness, which adds a malty depth to the brownies. The Guinness keeps the brownies from being overly sweet, and thus makes second (and third) helpings dangerously easy to enjoy. And if it’s not the Guinness in the brownies that is to blame for their irresistibility, then surely it must be the Guinness frosting that’s spread on top.

I am partly Irish, and even though I have been told endlessly that St. Patrick’s Day is a much larger celebration in the U.S. than it is in Ireland, I do not see that inconsistency as any reason not to honor it. In college, I enjoyed my first pint of Guinness in Dublin at a bar bearing my Irish maiden name. Eleven years later (#OLD), I enjoyed my second and third and fourth Guinness Brownies in my Milwaukee kitchen. Going forward, I plan to enjoy many more Irish-inspired recipes, the best of which I’ve saved to share with you.

While working on this Guinness brownie recipe, I found many other stout brownie recipes online, but nearly all of them called for reducing the Guinness to a syrup on the stove before adding it to the brownie batter. This seemed too fussy and time consuming. I don’t know about you, but when I am craving a brownie, I want need it ASAP. I decided to see if I could make the Guinness Brownies by adding the beer directly from the bottle, skipping the reduction step completely.

Overall, I was pleased with the results, as were my guests who fought over the leftovers. The Guinness flavor is quite subtle, but I was still able to detect it. I served these brownies at a party where both Guinness lovers and Guinness haters were present, and both groups approved. If you do want a bolder Guinness flavor, I’d recommend reducing 1 1/2 or even 2 cups of beer down to the 1 cup called for in the recipe. Let the reduction cool to room temperature, then follow the directions as stated. Unfortunately, I don’t have a good beer substitution, so if you prefer not to cook with alcohol, I’d recommend these Mint Brownies, which are every bit as fudgy and festive, instead.

How to Store and Freeze

To Store. Store leftovers in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.To Freeze. Place in an airtight freezer-safe storage container and freeze for up to 3 months. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator.

More St. Patrick’s Day Recipes

Green Whiskey SmashFlourless Whiskey CakeIrish Whiskey Ice Cream with Salted CaramelMint Smoothie

Favorite 8×8 inch baking panParchment paper (I love these pre-cut sheets) Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 66Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 61Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 82Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 7Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 39Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 79Guinness Brownies with Guinness Frosting   WellPlated com - 86