I dabbled in summer-league softball from the ages of 7 to 11, and I might have stuck with it a bit longer if playing fast pitch weren’t a requirement for the age 12-and-up crowd. I could barely handle my dad pitching to me overhanded in the backyard, so the idea of a softball hurtling towards my person with any kind of actual velocity was too much to fathom. Thus ended softball. In fifth grade, I attempted to replace softball with volleyball. I lasted one brave season, at which point I grew tired of the taller girls targeting me with their fierce, overhanded serves. How did they know? Also, I look terrible in kneepads—they accentuate my lack of calves. Farewell, volleyball. Though I’m awful at sports myself, I do enjoy watching college football, yes for the game (I understand almost all of the rules), but even more so for the comradery that comes with it. In what other activity besides sports can you be so personally invested without having to do anything besides ensure that your beer stays cold, your dip hot, and you’ve saved room for an extra serving of football chocolate chip peanut butter blondies?

Why I Love These Peanut Butter Blondies with Chocolate Chips

If food were a sport, these football-shaped peanut butter blondies would win the Heisman trophy. Their ability to rapidly disappear from dessert tables is unparalleled, their performance consistently exceeds expectations, and they are extra easy on the eyes (not a requirement of a Heisman winner, but it’s a nice bonus). Start your Fantasy Food league now, because these football chocolate chip peanut butter blondies are a first round draft pick, guaranteed. To make the football chocolate chip peanut butter blondies, I first made whole wheat peanut butter blondies, then stirred in a generous portion of both peanut butter and chocolate chips. Then, once the peanut butter blondies were cool, I cut them into football shapes with a cookie cutter.

You will have some “waste” between the football cut outs, but they need only be wasted if you discard them, which seems quite silly considering how excellent they taste beside a glass of milk or crumbled over vanilla ice cream. Of course, if you prefer to skip the footballs, you can simply slice them into peanut butter blondie bars. For the lace design, I used a small batch of simple vanilla frosting. It does contain vegetable shortening, which allows it to set up firmly at room temperature. You can use butter if you prefer—just know that the frosting will stay fairly soft.

How to Store and Freeze Peanut Butter Blondies

To Store. Store leftover blondies in an airtight storage container at room temperature or in the refrigerator for up to 4 days. To Freeze. Place blondies in an airtight freezer-safe storage container in the freezer for up to 3 months. Let thaw overnight in the refrigerator.

More Peanut Butter Chocolate Desserts

Chickpea Cookie Dough Monster Cookies Peanut Butter Banana Cookies Brown Butter Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies Peanut Butter Protein Cookies

OK ref, let’s hear the call: Touch down!

Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 69Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 65Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 41Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 33Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 99Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 76Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 17Football Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Blondies   WellPlated com - 54