Between mid-April and mid-May, I traveled 15 out of 24 days, visited six cities, turned 30, and published 11 recipes. I watched Tabasco sauce be made on a small island off of Louisiana, ate and drank my way through Nashville (twice), walked across the Golden Gate Bridge, sipped wine in Sonoma, and learned that my step dad officially beat cancer. My Kansas family surprised me by coming to visit, and my new Wisconsin family threw me a birthday party that was more special and beautiful than anything I could have imagined.

About This Egg in a Hole Breakfast Bagel

I’m exhausted and happy and full in every sense of the word. Now that I’m back home, it’s been tempting to be instantly overwhelmed by the tasks I neglected while away. Our yard needs weeding, the storage room has exploded all over the basement, and I am completely out of clean socks. Before I throw myself into the to-dos, however, I want to take a few moments to appreciate the special experiences that have filled this last month. One way I’ve carved out a few extra minutes to reflect is by keeping our meal prep extra fast and simple. Although it’s hardly a recipe, this avocado-topped bagel egg in a hole is delicious, satisfying, and perfect for when you are in need of a quick but nourishing meal (same with this Curried Chickpea Hash). Think of it as a combined riff between a standard egg in a hole (a classic breakfast dish in which an egg is fried inside a hole in a piece of bread—other names include “toad in a hole,” “egg in a nest,” and my personal favorite, “one-eyed sailor”), avocado toast, and a bagel breakfast sandwich. For another quick but nourishing meal, check out my English Muffin Pizzas or this Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Frittata. Instead of punching a hole in a slice of bread, I used the pre-existing hole inside of a whole wheat bagel. I hadn’t bought a bagel in ages, and until I made this bagel egg in a hole, I forgot just how much I love their chewy-on-the-outside, fluffy-on-the-inside texture. To make this bagel egg in a hole, start by buttering and toasting one side of the bagel in a skillet, then spread it with smashed, lightly seasoned avocado. Then, return the bagel to the skillet (avocado-side up), and just as you would for regular egg in a hole, crack an egg in its center, and toast the other side while frying the egg. You can cook the egg all the way through if you like, but I’m partial to keeping the yolk runny, then using buttery, toasty bites of bagel and avocado to mop it up.

Recipe Adaptations + Dietary Swaps

This bagel egg in a hole recipe is lovely as written, but it’s also a concept you can customize however you like. Here are a few ideas:

Everything Bagel Egg in a Hole. Use an everything bagel as your base or sprinkle everything bagel seasoning over the top of the avocado.Spicy Bagel Egg in a Hole. I like adding a sprinkle of red pepper flakes to wake up my taste buds.Bagel Egg in a Hole with Tomatoes. A drizzle of olive oil, a pinch of sea salt, and a layer of tomatoes would be wonderful (or maybe cucumbers). Add some crumbled bits of Baked Bacon over the top for a little BLT flair.Bagel Egg in a Hole with Cream Cheese. Swap the smashed avocado for a layer of cream cheese.To Make Gluten Free. Use a gluten free bagel.Prefer toast? Try this Kale Feta Egg Toast.

Tools Used to Make This Recipe

Non-Stick Skillet. Incredibly useful for so many recipes!Fish Spatula. Perfect for flipping anything, not just fish. Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 50Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 33Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 26Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 24Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 14Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 34Bagel Egg in a Hole  Topped with Smashed Avocado     WellPlated com - 72