Yes, bacon makes almost everything taste better. You just need to make sure to cook it right. This isn’t a problem when cooking bacon on its own, but it is when baking it wrapped around something moist and watery, like chopped zucchini, onions and mushrooms. These vegetables release a lot of water during baking and the bacon will have a very hard time crisping up. My solution is to bake bacon-wrapped stuffed zucchini boats placed on a cooling rack on convection. You don’t get perfect crispiness like when you fry bacon on a frying pan, but it’s close, and the bacon comes out delicious. And it makes the zucchini boats that much better, that much more flavorful and that much more delicious.

Needless to say, this is one of the most favorite recipes in our house. The prep is minimal, the dish is delicious, full of nutrients and doesn’t feel heavy due to the lack of carbs. I keep wondering how these zucchini boats would taste if smoked on my Big Green Egg. I love my smoked Texas Twinkies, pig shots and Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers. They taste great when baked, but when smoked, they are something else. I am definitely smoking these babies the next time I make them. After all, the grilling season is practically here. Though, to be honest, I never stop grilling and smoking, rain, wind or snow.

Links: 8 Crazy-Easy Stuffed Zucchini Recipes 16 Low-Carb Stuffed Zucchini Recipes

Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Zucchini Boats - 87Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Zucchini Boats - 16Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Zucchini Boats - 40Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Zucchini Boats - 96