I was ill prepared for my first Wisconsin concert. I arrived ten minutes before showtime with a half-empty bottle of wine and nothing else. Rookie mistake. In addition to listening to music and eating, the other primary activity at these outdoor concerts is to compare your picnic spread to those of neighboring groups. Forget the solo cups and PB&J—at our hometown concert scene, you best go big or go home.

I’m proud to report that, by the end of summer, my friends and I could be ranked among the picnic elite. Everyone brought something homemade to contribute, we used real forks and plates, and I even invested in a set of wine glass picnic sticks.

Classic Asian Noodle Salad

Homemade vegetable salads (like Asian Cucumber Salad) and cold pasta salads (like today’s noodle salad) are my go-to contribution for any picnic or cookout.

This recipe tastes excellent both cold and at room temperature, travels well, and is a universal hit anywhere I bring it.It also tastes fabulous left over, so when my friends and I go overboard and bring more food than we can finish (the best kind of picnic problem), I’m happy to keep the leftovers for lunch the next few days.

How to Make Asian Noodle Salad

This Asian noodle salad recipe is easy to throw together and requires zero cooking beyond boiling the noodles. Do not, however, be deceived by its two simple steps—Asian noodle salad is a flavor monster. Creamy peanut butter, zingy ginger, sweet honey, and a kick of Sriracha combine to create complex layers of flavor that will keep your fork wandering back to the bowl. In addition to being addictive, this salad is also healthy and packed with veggies, thanks to a product I’ve been adding to my slaws and cold pasta salads for years, broccoli cole slaw.

Broccoli coleslaw is the perfect way to sneak veggies into this Asian noodle salad, because its mild taste is almost imperceptible, and its thin cut blends seamlessly with the thin noodles.The overall effect is similar to a spiralized veggie pasta, minus the work of actually having to spiralize (plus, we still get to eat pasta!).The broccoli and noodles tangle together, and the rich peanuty sauce coats every morsel.

Translation: the euphoria of a total pasta binge, despite the fact that the majority of what you are shoveling into your mouth is vegetables. Healthy eating VICTORY! Asian noodle salad is lovely as a light side dish or lunch. To make it more hearty, I also like adding shredded chicken and edamame for a protein boost. I haven’t tried it with tofu yet, but I think it would be an excellent vegetarian option as well.

More Healthy Salad Recipes

Healthy Taco SaladMexican SaladShrimp Pasta SaladChicken Caesar Pasta SaladAsian Ramen SaladHealthy Italian Pepperoni Pasta Salad

Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 24Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 98Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 40Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 94Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 35Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 74Asian Noodle Salad  With Creamy Peanut Dressing     WellPlated com - 88